2 Samuel 16:5-8″When King David came to Bahurim, there came out a man of the family of the house of Saul, whose name was Shimei, the son of Gera, and as he came out he cursed continually. And he threw stones at David and all the servants of King David, and all the people and all the mighty men were on his right hand and on his left. And Shimei said as he cursed, ‘Get out, get out, you man of blood, you worthless man! The LORD has avenged on you all the blood of the house of Saul, in whose place you have reigned, as the LORD has given the kingdom into the hand of your son Absalom. See, your evil is on you.'”

At first glance, I hate this guy. But then when you see how David responds and forgives him him in chapter 19 I began to see quite a bit of myself in him. How often my sin is so blatant and flagrant in front of God just like Shimei’s was in front of David. Also, how often I am slow to acknowledge my sin like Shimei. Though he does repent is is only after Absalom is dead along with his revolt and David regains all his power as king. Here is the repentance of Shimei and the forgiveness of David

2 Samuel 19:18-20;23

“…and Shimei the son of Gera fell down before the king, as he was about to cross the Jordan, and said to the king, ‘Let not my lord hold me guilty or remember how your servant did wrong on the day my lord the king left Jerusalem. Do not let the king take it to heart. For your servant knows that I have sinned. Therefore, behold, I have come this day, the first of all the house of Joseph to come down to meet my lord the king.’…And the king said to Shimei, ‘You shall not die.’ And the king gave him his oath.”

