First of all, then, I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for all people, for kings and all who are in high positions, that we may lead a peaceful and quiet life, godly and dignified in every way.
(1 Timothy 2:1-2 ESV)

If you were asked to pray for the President, the Congress, the Senate, or any other government official how would you pray? What would that prayer look like? Do you or have you ever prayed for them? For me, before meditating on this text, I think it would almost exclusively be for the salvation of these people. Do not get me wrong, the salvation of our leaders is an important thing, but it is not the only reason or way to pray for your leaders. Paul gives us a fuller definition of what our prayers should look like.

How should we pray for our leaders?
– Supplications – these are submissive requests, petitions
– Prayers – fervent consistent genuine prayer
– Intercessions – intercede for them on their behalf
– Thanksgiving – be thankful that God gave them to you

Do I pray for my leaders as a first importance?
Do I make submissive requests for them?
Do I fervently pray for them?
Am I thankful for them?

What is the purpose of this prayer?
– To lead a godly life

If allowed by my government, and I am, would I lead a godly life?

What characterizes a godly life?
– peaceful
– quiet
– dignified

Am I leading a godly life?

What produces a godly life?
– proper doctrine
– love from a pure heart, good conscience, and sincere faith
– waging the good warfare
– feeding on the Word of God and putting it to practice

