First of all, then, I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for all people, for kings and all who are in high positions, that we may lead a peaceful and quiet life, godly and dignified in every way. This is good, and it is pleasing in the sight of God our Savior, who desires all people to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth. For there is one God, and there is one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus, who gave himself as a ransom for all, which is the testimony given at the proper time. For this I was appointed a preacher and an apostle (I am telling the truth, I am not lying), a teacher of the Gentiles in faith and truth.
(1 Timothy 2:1-7 ESV)

Is it selfish to ask for a peaceful, quiet, dignified life? How does 2 Tim 3:12 “Indeed, all who desire to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted” fit with this? That is what I am out to answer…

Here Paul gives an exhortation (parakaleō) for the church at Ephesus, and us today, to pray for all people but specifically mentions kings and all those in high positions. Last time I looked at this I simply saw the lack of prayer for leaders and government officials in my own life. This time I am looking at the purpose of it. What is the purpose of leading a godly life that is characterized by peacefulness, quietness, and dignity? Is it selfish? Is it OK to want that? I believe the answer is maybe. Maybe because it depends upon your motive and desires for those things.

What is it that is “good and pleasing”?
– Praying for leaders
– Relying upon God to change their hearts
– Not relying upon self
– Relying upon God when you don’t like the leaders
– Living a godly life no matter the leaders
– Praying for the advance of the gospel
– Prayer and a godly life is good no matter the political climate

Why is it “good and pleasing”?
– Because God desires all to be saved
– God desires all to come to know Him
– God desires men to know the truth
– God by nature is a Savior and desires to save
– When we do this we exhibit our faith and reliance upon God not self

What is the end goal?
– For all men to be saved and know the truth

How is this accomplished?
– the gospel
– Jesus is the one and only mediator between God and man
– Jesus gave Himself as a ransom for all
– Jesus is the testimony given at the proper time
– Paul is a preacher and apostle of this gospel
– This gospel is the reason we desire a quiet and tranquil life

Questions for thought:
1. Do I desire a quiet and tranquil life so I can share the gospel more?
2. Since the USA allows me to do this do I take advantage?
3. Do I share more or less in USA since there is less/zero persecution?
4. Is the gospel the grid I throw my desire through?
5. Is my life marked by the gospel?
6. The world persecutes the godly (2 Tim 3:12) how does a peaceful life fit?

In the end, a quiet and peaceful life is not one of laziness and self indulgence. Instead, a peaceful quiet and dignified life is one that maximizes gospel opportunities. In any local believers will face opposition and persecution. Yet, we are to be at peace with all men so far as it depends on us (Romans 12:18) and the next issue addressed in Romans 13 is submission to governing authorities. I think the goal here is an exemplary gospel life. One that trusts God wholly and has the Word of God flowing through it. Does that describe my life? Does that describe your life?

