Why was Abraham’s lie so bad?

Abraham lied Genesis 12:11-13
11 When he was about to enter Egypt, he said to Sarai his wife, “I know that you are a woman beautiful in appearance,
12 and when the Egyptians see you, they will say, ‘This is his wife.’ Then they will kill me, but they will let you live.
13 Say you are my sister, that it may go well with me because of you, and that my life may be spared for your sake.”

But God had promised
Genesis 12:1-3
1 Now the LORD said to Abram, “Go from your country and your kindred and your father’s house to the land that I will show you.
2 And I will make of you a great nation, and I will bless you and make your name great, so that you will be a blessing.
3 I will bless those who bless you, and him who dishonors you I will curse, and in you all the families of the earth shall be blessed.”

But Abraham had left that land that God had promised Genesis 12:10. So the worst part of his sin was that he forgot God and did not believe Him and His Word. If was trusting God he would not have told Sarah to lie. Thinking about and repenting of how often I forget God’s promises.

– Craig
Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

