Interesting point in MacArthur’s book “Slave” regarding Israel in the Old Testament. Throughout their existence they are marked by slavery, either to God in obedience or to another nation as a judgement from God because they were disobedient. God brought them out of Egypt to make them His slaves.

(Ex 19:5,) “Now therefore, if you will indeed obey my voice and keep my covenant, you shall be my treasured possession among all peoples, for all the earth is mine”

(Lev 25:55) “For it is to me that the people of Israel are servants. They are my servants whom I brought out of the land of Egypt: I am the LORD your God.”

The language used here is that of slave language, Israel is His “possession” and the word translated here in the ESV as “servant” is actually “slave”. Though God did give them freedom from their slavery under Egyptian and later Babylonian taskmasters, He never gives them freedom from slavery. They were and always to be His slaves, as are we. Jesus is our Sovereign, our King, our Lord, our Master, and we are His possession we are His slaves. He purchased us with His own blood.

– Craigy D

Sent from my iPad

