Get on the Offensive!

“Sin – including especially the sin of pride – is active, not passive. Sin does not wake up tired, because it hasn’t been sleeping. When you wake up in the morning, sin is right there, fully awake, ready to attack. So rather than be attacked by sin in the morning I’ve chosen to go on the offensive. I’ve chosen to announce to sin “I’m at war with you. I know you are there, and I’m after you.” From the moment I awake, I’ve learned to make statements to God about my dependence upon God, and in this way I’m humbling myself before God.”

– C.J. Mahaney Humility pg.69

“Have you realized that most of your unhappiness in life is due to the fact that you are listening to yourself instead of talking to yourself?”

– D. Martyn Lloyd-Jones Spiritual Depression

Leave a Reply

