My wife and I were graciously treated last night to a Chris Tomlin concert by some good friends of ours and I thought I should get some thoughts down about it before I forgot. I need to first preface my statements. It is quite possible that if this same opportunity had come along a year or so ago I might have turned it down because of my own dislike of mainstream popular “christian” artists. I foolishly lumped him in a category that made him unreachable and unable to minister to me, but I have slowly been worn down by his lyrics which are saturated with Scripture and point you upward and outward. With that said let me offer you some thoughts about the concert last night and how and why it blessed my soul and why I heartily support Chris Tomlin and love his music and encourage you to listen to him as well.

Here are 10 reasons…

  1. The gospel was presented (1 Corinthians 15:1-4)
  2. Scripture was read (1 Timothy 4:13)
  3. Scripture was explained (Nehemiah 8:8)
  4. Crowd commanded not to worship created things (such as the band) but instead commanded to worship the Creator (Romans 1:19-23)
  5. Stimulated the crowd to love and good deeds (Hebrews 10:24)
  6. Encouraged faith, love, trust in the one true God (Romans 8:31)
  7. Focused on all three parts of the God Head (Exodus 15:2, 1 Corinthians 14:15, Heb. 2:11; 10:10, 14)
  8. Musically excellent (1 Corinthians 10:31)
  9. God was exalted above everything else and lifted high (Exodus 15:2, Psalm 34:3, Psalm 99:5,9)
  10. It was spiritually refreshing (Philemon 1:20)
