Jonathan Edwards came up with 70 resolutions as a young man to help guide his life. He opened with this statement:

Being sensible that I am unable to do any thing without God’s help, I do humbly entreat him, by his grace, to enable me to keep these Resolutions, so far as they are agreeable to his will, for Christ’s sake.

Remember to read over these Resolutions once a week.

One of my favorites is Resolution 63:

63. On the supposition, that there never was to be but one individual in the world, at any one time, who was properly a complete Christian, in all respects of a right stamp, having Christianity always shining in its true luster, and appearing excellent and lovely, from whatever part and under whatever character viewed: Resolved, to act just as I would do, if I strove with all my might to be that one, who should live in my time. Jan.14′ and July ‘3’ 1723.

His point being that if there was only a single person who could be a true Christian in the world, that he himself would live in such a way that he could be that individual for his time.

Here you can view the entire list. Here is a message from Steve Lawson on Jonathan Edwards and his resolutions


