A Man’s Ways – Promises From God’s Word 6.24.2011

DISCLAIMER: Just to clarify, since I have already had some feedback, the Proverbs are more maxims or truisms. By using the word “promise” here in this text I certainly am not saying that you are guaranteed by God to be at peace with your enemies if you live a godly life. Just look at Jesus and see that this was not true in His most perfect case. Instead, as a general rule, a life that is pleasing to the Lord is also generally pleasing to fellow man. A life of high moral character, others focused, loving, gracious, truth speaking, wisdom seeking, etc. is generally a life that even your enemies can’t resist. To use the word “promise” here is probably too much of a stretch but I hope that you are still encouraged by this general truth in God’s Word.

Proverbs 16:7 “When a man’s ways please the Lord, he makes even his enemies to be at peace with him.”

Some tough questions I am asking myself and you should too:

  1. Are my ways pleasing to the Lord or are they pleasing to me?
  2. Am I even seeking out what ways are pleasing to the Lord through prayer and Bible reading?
  3. Am I purposefully making my ways pleasing to the Lord?

The general truth to think about:

  1. Even your enemies find it hard to resist a godly life that produces high moral character, strong conviction, hard work, others focused, loving, gracious, truth seeking etc.
One Reply to “A Man’s Ways – Promises From God’s Word 6.24.2011”

Leave a Reply

