Tags

, , ,

Today I am doing something new, I am not going to be talking about a particular text of the Bible or reviewing a sermon. Instead, today I am adding a new Bible Review section to the blog. As many of you know I enjoy collecting different Bibles and this new feature will give me the opportunity to share with you pictures and features of the various Bible I have. My goal in doing this is to help you see the variety of Bibles that are out there and the various features each one affords you.

My first review will be the first premium Bible that I ever received, it is a New King James Version MacArthur Study Bible in black calfskin by Thomas Nelson publishers.

Some Key Features

  1. Black Calfskin, with a distressed matte look to it
  2. Black Letter text (meaning the words of Jesus are not in red)
  3. Two ribbon markers
  4. Smyth Sewn (i.e. the  pages are sewn together not glued)
  5. This is the original MacArthur Study Bible with old formatting which seems to give more margin space for notes and marking (you can judge for yourself)

Some Critiques

  1. The main critique I have with this edition is the paper, it is quite thin and therefore there is a fair amount of ghosting and bleed through (which I have denoted and you will see in the pictures below)

Without further ado, here are the pictures (if you click on the pictures you will see the larger image).

HERE IS THE BOX DETAILING THE CONTENTS

FRONT COVER , DISTRESSED CALFSKIN VERY SOFT

BACK COVER EVEN MORE CHARACTER

OPEN, LAYS COMPLETELY FLAT

DOING “YOGA”  NO PROBLEM, VERY FLEXIBLE CALFSKIN

BOTTOM, TWO BLACK RIBBONS

TOP, AGAIN TWO BLACK RIBBONS

SPINE, SIMPLE WITH THREE RAISED BANDS

VERY CLEAN AND STURDY CONSTRUCTION

CLASSIC MACARTHUR STUDY BIBLE FORMAT, THE MARGINS SEEM A BIT LARGER THAN THE NEW FORMAT

THERE IS A FAIR AMOUNT OF GHOSTING (I.E. TEXT FROM BEHIND VISIBLE)

BIBLE ON TOP OF BOX

This Bible was given to me from my beautiful bride as a wedding gift so it is full of sentimental value. It was also the last run of this particular edition so it makes it that much more special.

If you have enjoyed this review then I suggest you check out www.bibledesignblog.com where Mark Bertrand has done amazing work on reviewing Bibles. His website is where you must begin when deciding which Bible you wish to purchase and which features you prefer. He and I disagree on a few point but his analysis is spot on.

Finally if there is anything else you would like to see or know about the Bible reviewed above please feel free to contact me via the comment section of the blog. I hope you enjoy this new part of the blog!

 Grace and Peace

