Psalm 4 – “the LORD has set apart the godly man for Himself, the LORD hears when I call to Him” (v3). Romans 8 says that not only does He hear when we call, but He even helps us call out to Him. We are weak and do not know how to pray like we should so the Spirit intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words, thus not only hearing our call but even helping us call.

Prov 1:11-14 – men will tempt us with earthly profits to do what is wrong, but we must “tremble and do not sin” (Psalm 4:4)

Matt 5:1-30 “Rejoice and be glad” (v12) about what? Persecution. Why? Because that is what always happens to those who want to be godly. The OT prophets were treated that way, Jesus was, Apostles were, all through church history the true believers are always persecuted. We need to rejoice and be glad when we are persecuted because of Jesus, its a good indicator that we’re doing what we should. “Indeed, all who desire to live godly in Christ Jesus will be persecuted” (2 Tim 3:12).

The question I must ask myself is, “am I being persecuted for His sake?” I should be more concerned if I’m never persecuted than if I am often persecuted because if people aren’t persecuting me it probably means I’m not any different than the world in my living and I’m also probably not talking about Jesus enough. I’m not salt and light as Jesus goes on in verses 13-16.

“Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.” (5:16) Along with persecution from some we should also see this happening, our lives should point people to God and cause them to glorify Him. Does my life do that? Do people glorify me or God when they see my life? Do I correct them if they get it wrong?

5:26 “truly you will not come out of there until you have paid the last cent ” my NAS has a side column note saying “Lit. 2 mites”. That sparked my memory of the widow who gave her last bit if money into the treasury. Here in Matt 5:2 the point is that you will pay until the least bit, the smallest amount is paid back. With the widow, that least bit, smallest amount, is all she had left.

Gen 10-11 – the people try to build a tower that “will reach into heaven” and I remember Piper one time making the observation of v5 “the LORD came down to see” what they had built, it was so teeny tiny small that He had to come down just to see it!

11:7 “Come let Us go down and confuse their language” again a reference to a multiple person Godhead

