Tags

, , , , ,

PSALM 42

Great word picture – “As the deer pants for the water brooks, so my soul pants for you, O God” – I can see that in my mind, O God make this true for me!

“My soul thirsts for God, for the living God”

The Psalmist twice poses the same question to his soul and preaches to himself – “Why are you in despair O my soul? And why have you become disturbed within me? Hope in God, for I shall praise Him for the help of His presence. ” – the Psalmist longs for, pants after, thirsts for the presence of God, does that describe me?

PROVERBS 8:30-32

Wisdom was beside God as a master workman. Blessed are those who walk in that same wisdom.

LUKE 6:20-49

“Blessed are you when men hate you, and ostracize you, and insult you, and scorn your name as evil, for the sake of the Son of Man” – Jesus says you are blessed when people hate you, ostracize you, insult you, scorn you, and call you evil for His sake…that is such a radical thought. My life is spent trying to make people like me. I need to have the attitude of Paul in Romans 1:16 “I am not ashamed of the gospel”. When we share about Christ and the gospel people will try and shame us with shaming behavior. But we must not be ashamed, Jesus says we are blessed. Which will motivate us? The world’s shame or Jesus blessing?

“Woe to you when all men speak well of you…” – Do all men speak well of me? Do some speak ill of me because of my testimony for Christ? Am I any different?

Jesus is so radical – “Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you” – this is how a person who is born again behaves, it’s radical, it’s supernatural, it’s not normal! It seems impossible because it is….apart from Christ. But I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength (Philippians 4:13) and apart from Him I can do nothing (John 15:5).

No good tree produces bad fruit and no bad tree produces good fruit, each tree is know by it fruit. Men do not gather grapes from an orange tree or apples from an avocado tree. No you gather apples from an apple tree. In the same way my life must produce the fruit of what it really is. What kind of fruit is my life producing?

“The “mouth speaks from that which fills the heart” – how you speak reveals what’s in your heart. What is my speech telling me about my heart? Mouth problems are heart problems, the mouth is simply the megaphone for the heart.

“Why do you call me Lord Lord and do not do what I say?” – if you don’t do what He says then He is not your Lord.

DEUTERONOMY 5-6

The call to obedience is prefaced with what God has already done for them. Because God is the one who brought them out of Egypt out of the house of slavery they should do what He says. Because God has done something they must do something. This is a common formula in the Bible.

“Hear O Israel! The LORD us our God, the LORD is one! You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart with all soul and with all your might” – per Jesus this is the greatest commandment (Matthew 22:36-40) does this describe me?

Parenting principle – “These words shall be on your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your sons and shall talk of them when you sit in your house and when you walk by the way and when you lie down and when you rise up. You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates” – for me to talk about it with my children and others that info needs to first be in me, I need to digest and apply it in my own life first.
When their children ask why they do all of these statutes and commandments they are to use that opportunity to recount all that God had done for them. I need to do this more with my own children, look for every opportunity to exalt God and share all that He has done. I often don’t do this and I forget all that He has done. Psalm 103 says “bless the LORD O my soul and forget none of His benefits”, may it be so in my life.

