PSALM 43

“O send out Your light and Your truth and let them lead me” – where does the Psalmist want to be led to? “Let them bring me to your holy hill and to Your dwelling place. Then I will go to the altar of God, to God my exceeding joy, and upon the lyre I shall praise You O God my God”

Again the phrase is used that was twice used in the previous Psalm “Why are you in despair, O my soul? And why are you disturbed within me? Hope in God, for I shall again praise Him, the help of my countenance and my God”

PROVERBS 8:33-36

Do you want to find life and obtain favor from the LORD? Get wisdom.

Do you want to avoid injuring yourself and not love death? Get wisdom.

LUKE 7:1-35

DEUTERONOMY 7-9

Why did God choose Israel? “The LORD did not set His love on you nor choose you because you were more in number than any of the peoples, for you were the fewest of all people’s, but because the LORD loved you…” – He chose them not because they were particularly great but because of His love

“Know therefore that the LORD your God, He is God, the faithful God…”

A principle is becoming clearer and clearer: Blessing for obedience and punishment for disobedience. If they will just stay faithful to God He will be amazingly faithful and gracious to them and bless them in a huge way. But if they seek other gods He will reprove them to their face.

“You shall not covet the silver or the gold that is on them, nor take it for yourselves, or you will be snared by it…” – does the silver and gold look good? Yes! Is it good? No! Just because something looks good doesn’t make it good. Sometimes it’s hard to say no to what God says no to because it looks so pleasing and pleasure giving. But God has said no for a good reason and for our own good. The silver and gold is a snare that looked appealing.

The LORD God lead Israel through the wilderness for 49 years to humble them and test them to see what was in their heart.

“Beware that you do not forget the LORD your God…”
The LORD gives the power to make wealth, not ourselves.

