There has been quite a good response to this old post so I figured I would re-post it. My prayer is that it will be a blessing to you.

Craig DeSpain's Blog

Currently I am working through the book of James with a small group on Wednesday nights and we are about to wrap up the first chapter. The first chapter of James is a goldmine of goodies just ready to be explored and excavated, the greatest of which might be the instruction found on enduring and persevering through trials and/or temptations.

What is the difference between a trial and a temptation? Is there a difference? How do you know?

The first chapter of James really helps define this issue so lets turn there. The Greek word translated into English as “trials” in 1:2 is the same Greek word (but in a different tense) translated “tempted” in verses 12-17.

Wait…I thought these were different? Are they different? Why are they translated different if they are the same word just in different tenses? How do they know? How can I know?

Well let’s look to the context of…

View original post 936 more words

