Tags

, , , ,

Joshua 7:1″But the sons of Israel acted unfaithfully in regard to the things under the ban, for Achan, the son of Carmi, the son of Zabdi, the son of Zerah, from the tribe of Judah, took some of the things under the ban, therefore the anger of the Lord burned against the sons of Israel.”

Interesting that the text says “the sons of Israel acted unfaithfully” and “the anger of the Lord burned against the sons of Israel”.

Personal Application: My sin affects those around me, maybe not to the same degree as Achan but still it is true and this seems a good example.

“20So Achan answered Joshua and said, “Truly, I have sinned against the Lord, the God of Israel, and this is what I did:
21when I saw among the spoil a beautiful mantle from Shinar and two hundred shekels of silver and a bar of gold fifty shekels in weight, then I coveted them and took them; and behold, they are concealed in the earth inside my tent with the silver underneath it.””

Classic sin process:
1. He Saw
2. He Coveted
3. He took
4. He Hid

The Brevity of Life in Job 7
– allotted months of vanity (v3)
– my days are swifter than a weavers shuttle (v6)
– remember that my life is but breath (v7)
– the eye of him who sees me will behold me no longer, your eyes will be on me but I will not be (v8)
– when a cloud vanishes it is gone so he who goes down to Sheol does not come up (v9)
– I waste away, I will not live forever, leave me alone for my days are but a breath (v16)
– What is man that You magnify him, And that You are concerned about him (v17)

