Tags

, , , ,

Genesis 19 and the whole Lot situation. I am more like the bad characters in the Lot situation than I would like to admit.

1. The men of the city are struck with blindness and still weary themselves groping for the door. Application: sin is blinding and is also a motivator, often times I find that I work harder at sinning than I do at trying to be godly and righteous. I am too much like these men of Sodom wearying themselves to chase after sin.

2. The city is about to be destroyed and verse 16 says “Lot hesitated”. It appears that Lot was not quick in his obedience, he did not recognize the danger he was in, listen to wisdom and act. Instead he was lead by his affections which were still tied to things destined to perish (they would literally be burned in a day or two). Application: I am just like Lot, I am slow to obey, I hesitate to obey. I need to be quick to repent and to turn and obey. I need to be quick to leave things destined to perish (2 Peter 3:10) and pursue the things which are eternal (Colossians 3:2). I need to remind myself of the clear and present danger of sin and its bewitching nature.

3. Lot seems to be lazy about his escape, again he’s slow to obey and he desires to go somewhere closer to escape. Application: This is how I am, always looking for the minimum I can do and still be “ok”, looking for the escape clause. I need to be quick to obey and obey all the way with a happy heart (I feel like I’ve told my children that a million times and here I see I need to tell it to myself a million times). 1 Corinthians 10:13 ” 13 “No temptation has overtaken you but such as is common to man; and God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will provide the way of escape also, so that you will be able to endure it.” This text says that the way of escape is by enduring through a trial, the way of escape does not avoid the time of testing instead it endures through it.

4. Lot’s sin affected others such as his wife and future sons in-laws. He did not properly lead his wife or protect her. She foolishly looks back and is turned into salt. Had Lot responded properly to the peril they were in and had he led his wife properly and helped her have a proper perspective this would not have happened. With regard to his sons in-laws they think Lot is jesting, to me this seems to imply that they are not used to hearing Lot talk about God and His perfection and His holiness and justice and wrath. As I think about what I would say to someone if I was in that situation, I would be talking to them about the character and nature of God and be urging them to come with me. They think Lot is joking, they think he is acting out of character. Application: my example, my sin, my pattern of life will either be a blessing to those around me (i.e. Abraham) or I will be a bad example and source of difficulty (i.e. Lot). Which am I? My sin affects those around me.

5. Lot is rescued and then is lead into drunkenness and incest with both daughters. Lot did not use the situation which just happened (imagine, he got to watch Sodom and Gomorrah be destroyed, he was actually able to view it and it’s results. This event was so big that they had to go to another city so as not to be destroyed, the surrounding text says that Abraham was able to see the smoke rising up the next day) to fuel obedience. Seemingly Lot was not thankful for the salvation he had just experienced and his actions reveal this otherwise he would have used the opportunity to teach his daughters about God and remind himself of God’s love and provision. Instead of exalting God for His provisions and protection his daughter say “there is not another man on the earth to come into us…” This is crazy. This is the speech of someone blinded by sin and unable to see the goodness and grace and provision of God who just saved them Application: I do the same thing, I take God’s blessings and provisions and protections  and gifts for granted and instead of being grateful and motivating me to praise, worship and obey Him I sin against Him, the One who had been so gracious to me. I must remember what God has done and use it as fuel for happy obedience.

grace and peace

